Topic: Absolute Newbie, took over site using CN, no idea how to use it

A few months ago I took over a website that it turns out is using CuteNews, although when I asked the previous Webmaster if he use a CMS, he said no. (I gathered that he was in a very big hurry to transfer the site quickly, as he was moving overseas very shortly).  Since then, he has been in Ukraine, where his schedule and the political unrest and war have made him unavailable to provide help so far.

My problem is, I don't even know where to begin to start CutNews. I can see that the main English page calls "show_news.php" and I see the CuteNews readme.html file in the news directory, but I have no idea how to invoke the admin program and maintain the articles. Once I can get that far, I can read all the documentation and forum topics to get up to speed, but, like I said, right now I don't even know where to begin. My host uses cPanel, and I can look at all files that way, but not knowing anything about CN file structure, I don't know where to look to get started.

The site seems to be operating okay, and the source code of the index pages shows the last article the old webmaster added, which doesn't show up in the index2.php file for that page, so that's how I know CuteNews is functioning. 

I hesitate to share any site info publicly, as until I'm sure I have a secure login, I'm afraid I might be vulnerable to someone who knows CuteNews being able to reset the login info.

Please help me get started, as I need to start updating this site ASAP.  It is for a world class athlete who has a world championship competition coming up, so I can't let it get too far out of date.

Thanks for any help. Let me know if more info is necessary to answer my question.
JB

Re: Absolute Newbie, took over site using CN, no idea how to use it