Topic: conf.php losing settings

Hi

I've been using cutenews for many years and always been happy with it, and I still am, however since moving my site to a new host and updating the CuteNews script my conf.php periodically resets, losing all settings including paths etc.

This is happening at random and it could happen a couple of weeks apart, or a couple of days apart, and at any time of the day or night. There seems to be no pattern.

It doesn't seem to happen because of anything I actively do. ie I can happily add news items, edit, or anything without it triggering the problem.
I simply get a report that there is no news on the site again, at which point I simply upload a backed up conf.php, and reset the rss in the integration wizard everything is back to normal.

I have completely reinstalled the latest version of CuteNews a few days ago and that hasn't stopped it happening again today.

When I look at the files on the server I can see the conf.php has been updated because of the datestamp.
Also many of the 20xx-xx-xx.php files in the "news" dirctory have had their datestamp updated, although there is no obvious change to the content when seen on the site, and there are lots of cache_A2 files there. In fact the files in the news directory seem to be constantly updating according to the timestamps dispite the fact I haven't edited or added anything. For example looking right now at the last few files in timestamp order:

cache_A2_da3c91e67fadbbf6c52aeb7f94a105d3.txt -  21/02/2019 14.20
2013-08-09.php - 21/02/2019 14.21
2016-6-08.php - 21/02/2019 14.30
2011-09-12.php - 21/02/2019 14.40
cache_A2_46d45b97cf6f499a82064877750e6f38.txt - 21/02/2019 14.57
cache_A2_106c8b094590c6aef8fe0dcafbdc93f0 - 21/02/2019 14.59
cache_A2.txt - 21/02/2019 15.00
cache_A2_76d8d763f79e57a37b9ec7e884395cae.txt - 21/02/2019 15.00