Topic: Errors logging in to 1.4.6 CN in sep directories from working 2.0.2

I'm new to CuteNews and have just started adding articles to a web site that I've taken over from someone else (thanks to several here for the help getting started). Sorry for the long post, but I like to offer as much info up front to minimize the number of questions needed to diagnose the problem.

The site has an English version, and also a Spanish, Russian and Chinese language versions.  They are in different directories and so  logically it seems to me they would be using discrete installations of CN each in their own directories, and that's what the file structure indicates to me.  The first thing I did in the English site was to upgraded from 1.x-something to 2.0.2 because of the notice of important security fixes, and after a little tinkering that is working fine. The English version is in ../Anna/English/News/.